NYFW: Jessica Chastain TimesTalks & Proenza Schouler!

Jessica Chastain & I after her TimesTalks Q&A, 9/10/12.

Back in August 2011 I had heard about a tiny screening for ‘The Debt‘ going on downtown that I wanted to check out in case up-and-comer Jessica Chastain would be in attendance – and she was. I had been hearing more and more about Jessica as the year went on, and after seeing her in ‘The Help‘ I fell in love with her just like filmmakers and critics alike had. I knew big things were in store for Jessica and had a feeling she would be a prime staple to this years award season, and I was right.

Since then Brian and I have started what we fondly refer to as The Jessica Chastain Movie Club in which we are watching her films made prior to us being her #1 fans. We’ve had the opportunity to meet her again multiple times over the course of the last year as well, such as the Met Gala, the CFDA Awards, and on set for ‘The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby‘! I am so happy to see that Jessica is exactly the same genuine, sweet, friendly young woman as she was when we met her over a year ago. The best part? She recognizes us now! And not in a creepy way, either. In like a, “Hi guys! It’s so good to see you!” way that I have to admit is pretty freaking cool.

Though Brian and I did not get to attend the TimesTalks event where Jessica Chastain was promoting her upcoming stage production in ‘The Heiress‘ as we had a coinciding engagement we made sure to swing by on our way home for the evening to say hello. Lucky enough for Brian and I we were the only ones there when Jessica was leaving and when she came out she was excited to see us and stopped to chat with us for quite some time. I asked her how she was walking in her shoes – gorgeous animal print Christian Louboutin’s that probably cost one month’s rent for me – and she pulled her foot up to show off the thick heel telling me, “They aren’t so bad, see!” The last time I had spoken to Jessica was on set for ‘The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby‘ where we chatted about her upcoming film ‘Lawless‘, so I was able to tell her that I had finally seen it and thought it was just incredible. “How about that Tom Hardy, wasn’t he something?”, she asked me. I wished her nothing but the best with the film in the upcoming months (aka the beginning of awards season) before we said our goodbyes for the evening.

Jessica Chastain & I after Proenza Schouler, 9/12/12.

Last night at Proenza Schouler’s Spring 2013 runway show downtown in my favorite abandoned building in all of Manhattan, 5 Beekman Street (see pictures here!), we saw Jessica for the second time this week. To be fair, we had no idea she would be at the show so it was quite the surprise when she arrived. The always accomodating Ms. Chastain stopped for photographers during her departure from the show which allowed Brian and a moment to say hello and snag a picture. Jessica looked incredible last night with her hair pin straight, I loved it! Before she left I thanked her for always being so sweet and so nice to us and she said, “It’s my pleasure. It’s so good to see you guys again!” BFF’s for life.

The Heiress‘ begins previews on October 6th and opens November 1st. Tickets are available via the official website! ‘Lawless‘ is also still in theaters and is a MUST SEE for 2012. If you have not seen it yet please take the trip to your local theater, trust me!

Also, if you didn’t know, Jessica Chastain is on Facebook. Occasionally she even interacts with fans which I think is just fantastic, so check it out and send her a note!

If you would like to share these pictures on your web-site please make sure to credit back to my site. DO NOT REMOVE TAGS. Thank you!

I would like to take a moment to thank Madison Plus for my Vince Camuto blazer and the silver Carmakoma top you see in the first picture. Make sure to LIKE Madison Plus on Facebook and follow their official Twitter: @MadisonPlus!

One thought on “NYFW: Jessica Chastain TimesTalks & Proenza Schouler!

  1. Love your Blog, Lauren!! And I love that you are fan of Jessica Chastain. I have been a fan since The Help and it’s nice to know she’s every bit as nice as she seems. She seems like one of the true gems in Hollywood these days. So cool you have met her a few times, too! I hope to meet her after The Heiress show I have tickets for in October. I can only hope she greets fans after the shows!

Leave a Reply

