CW Fall Preview: “Arrow”, “Beauty and The Beast”, and “Emily Owens M.D.”

I actually try to avoid seeing new television shows before they air simply because thanks to social media I enjoy watching a brand new show for the first time live along with the rest of the world, all of us tweeting our reactions and discussing our opinions the instant we have them. So, this will be a little bit of a treat!

Last night I was invited by my friend and fellow blogger Brian Tuft to preview three new Fall television shows courtesy of The CW and The Paley Center, to which I happily accepted. I, as a twenty-something teen drama lover, have somewhat of a love affair with The CW. Though I do have to admit I am still pretty pissed at them for cancelling two of my favorite shows last year, both “Ringer” and “The Secret Circle”.

One show Brian had been harping on about was “Arrow”, and it was the show he was most excited to see which made me excited for it as well. Brian has pretty good taste so it’s very rare he will steer any of us wrong, and of course he struck gold again with “Arrow”. I was looking forward to “Emily Owens M.D.” as a I thoroughly enjoy “Hart of Dixie” and I found it to be cute, as expected. “Beauty and The Beast” was a tragedy though, and I don’t mean in the genre sense. Find the trailers and a more detailed opinion from yours truly below, but be warned: there may be mild spoilers!

ARROW: Premieres Wednesday October 10th @ 8p/7c before Supernatural!

Stephen Amell, who I know previously from HBO’s “Hung” (R.I.P.) and FOX’s “New Girl”, is The CW’s latest poster boy courtesy of not only his smoking hot body but the fact that “Arrow” is undoubtedly a hit. Stephen plays Oliver Queen and is supported by Katie Cassidy as his scorned ex-girlfriend Laurel Lance, his party boy best friend Tommy Merlyn played by Colin Donnell, and his younger sister Thea Queen played by Willa Holland. While the show has some very stereotypical aspects – millionaire playboy turned vigilante, a love triangle, intense family dramatics, etc. – I found myself surprised by some key plot twists I won’t spoil for those of you planning to watch, and I was on the edge of my seat waiting for more and more reveals as the hour went on. A lot was left up in the air at the end of the plot which is the key to making us tune back in every week, so I am already anticipating the second episode. Also, it must be mentioned that for the first time EVER Katie Cassidy’s performance did not make me cringe. I can’t recall a time I was ever impressed with her presence until now, so it’s exciting to see her up her game for once. Another notable appearance? Willa Holland – who I always recognize primarily from “The O.C.” – playing yet another troubled younger sister, except obviously she’s a bit older now and will obviously take on a much more dramatic role.

EMILY OWENS, M.D.: Premieres Tuesday October 16th @ 9p/8c following Hart of Dixie!

I was pretty excited for “Emily Owens, M.D.” and rightfully so – I am a fan of The CW’s “Hart of Dixie” which is half medical drama, a third relationship drama, and another third just ditzy girl antics courtesy of Rachel Bilson. I am also a fan of “Grey’s Anatomy” and I felt based on the previews that “Emily Owens, M.D.” would prove to be somewhere in the middle of both. I was right. While “Emily Owens, M.D.” lacks the “Hart of Dixie” small town drama, I sense similarities among both lead characters “boy problems” and silly girl antics. Mamie Gummer is a mirrored reflection of her mother Meryl Streep in the quirky but endearing role of Emily Owens, supported by a handful of new faces I couldn’t pick out of a line up. However the unknown cast is strong, and I sense that the purported love triangle between Mamie Gummer’s Emily and her two fellow doctors – Justin Hartley as Will and Michael Rady as Micah – will put them all on the map once fans pick a side and start shipping via Tumblr. Similarities to “Grey’s Anatomy” aside from the obvious in-hospital theme and relationship story lines came in the form of the patient stories, all of which tugged at the heart strings just enough to get those tear ducts welling up without my consent. A little girl who needs heart surgery, a drunk driver who puts his brothers life in severe danger, an old lady with Alzheimer’s whose heartbroken daughter refuses to care for her any longer, and a cancer patient with not much time left all force the new doctors to work together all while improving their bedside mannerisms. It’s a cute show with room for improvements, and I look forward to (hopefully) watching the pieces fall into place as the season progresses.

BEAUTY AND THE BEAST: Premieres Thursday October 11th @ 9p/8c following The Vampire Diaries!

I don’t even know where to start. There was so much unintentional laughter in the audience as “Beauty and The Beast” played that it got uncomfortable and I found myself hoping The CW executives that were in the building earlier had left prior to it beginning. Where to begin? The CGI of the “beast” is pretty terrible, laughable even. There are lots of holes in the plot as well, unexplained gaps that I’m sure have a lot to do with the fact that it was just a pilot but still needed even just the tiniest bit of light shined on them so we knew they would later be acknowledged. Far too many longing glances as well, with the added bonus of a fan constantly blowing their hair in the wind to bring the cheese level up a notch or three too high even for The CW. Kristin Kreuk once impressed on “Smallville” but put on a desperately poor performance in as “Beauty” which was unfortunate, especially alongside Jay Ryan whose performance I was actually quite smitten with despite the bad “beast” CGI which he cannot be blamed for. I am sure that once “Beauty and The Beast” is cancelled they will find room for Jay elsewhere as we all know The CW enjoys recycling! There were other things that just left a bad taste in my mouth like the fact that the shows two main female characters play partner detectives on the NYPD which, and I mean no harm to my empowering NYPD females who get it done on the streets, was just so unrealistic. There are plenty of female detectives on the force but the odds of two females being partnered together? Very, very low. And while Kristin Kreuk was actually believable as a detective, Nina Lisandrello’s character was not. Being the born and bred New Yorker I am, as well as a daughter to a real life NYPD detective, the overly thick Brooklyn “accent” Nina packed on was so distracting and cringe-worthy I can’t remember a thing she said throughout the whole show. Most of the dialogue was just plain silly anyway, which was what brought on so much unintentional laughter among the audience. Sorry CW, but I’m out on this one.

3 thoughts on “CW Fall Preview: “Arrow”, “Beauty and The Beast”, and “Emily Owens M.D.”

  1. How can you enjoy Emily wilsons md? it`s just as horrible as Hart of dixie was.I saw arrow and Beauty both at SDCC and i think CW may have Two hits show next season.BATB is actually decent and the two leads are strong here.Looking forward to it this fall :).Sorry Mamie gummer,but you deserves better show thatn this.

    • I probably enjoyed it because I enjoy Hart of Dixie. I referred to it as a middle ground between Hart of Dixie and Grey’s Anatomy, but tonight a friend of mine mentioned it had some Scrubs aspects to it as well which I agree with. I guess we’ll see how it pans out!

  2. I’m jealous that you got the chance to watch Arrow so far in advance! I’ve been hearing nothing but good things about it, so I’m dying to check it out for myself. A few gals from my office at Dish and I are already swooning over Stephen Amell. With abs like that, who can blame us?! 😉 Emily Owens, M.D. looks like it will be right up my alley too. I can’t believe how many new shows they are whipping out on the CW, let alone all the other network. I am definitely going to need the help of my Hopper DVR’s loads of recording space to make sure I don’t miss out on a thing. This fall’s primetime line up is looking better than ever!

Leave a Reply

