Shia LaBeouf + Robert Redford + Anna Kendrick = “The Company You Keep” Trailer!

Last year I read a political thriller titled “The Company You Keep” by Neil Gordon that was full of twists, turns, and surprises on every page. The story was told in a way I had never seen done before, by a group of people writing emails to one person. Each chapter was a new email from someone else involved, and each chapter held so much new and unexpected information there were times I thought my brain would explode with excitement.

Needless to say it was one of the greatest books I’ve read in a very, very long time.

Last Fall Shia LaBeouf and Robert Redford took over Vancouver filming the movie adaptation of “The Company You Keep” with an all-star line up that is so impressive it is mandatory I list them all: Anna Kendrick, Susan Sarandon, Terrence Howard, Stanley Tucci, Sam Elliot, Julie Christie, Brit Marling, Nick Nolte, and Chris Cooper.

Redford took a risk casting Shia LaBeouf as the lead. Personally I think that Shia is an incredible drama actor, but I’m one of the very few people who has seen “A Guide to Recognizing Your Saints“. I genuinely hope that the movie world gives him a chance with this one, and I hope that he blows them away. We’ll find out in a week or so when the first reviews are in!

This month the Toronto International Film Festival announced “The Company You Keep” would premiere at TIFF which any film buff knows is kind of, sort of, absolutely a BIG DEAL. I am actually currently still debating whether or not I want to take the trip up to Toronto solely for the ticketed screening the day after the premiere because that’s how badly I want to see this film, and as of right now it has no release date. The film is also set to screen at the Venice Film Festival next week, and the distribution rights have already been bought by Sony Pictures.

The trailer below is an incredible first look at the film. I don’t have much else to say because I am currently MIND = BLOWN about it. There are few things that compare to seeing a book you cherished turned into a film you will cherish, especially when it’s done right. The story may appear to be somewhat predictable by watching the trailer but I can assure you that what you see in this first trailer is merely just one layer of skin. As someone who read the novel and knows the story I see glimpses of things in the trailer that lead to a much more complex storyline, but these are pieces that will fall together for you as you watch the film in it’s entirety. Robert Redford can do no wrong in my eyes. Let’s be honest: Neither can Anna Kendrick!

Leave a Reply

