“The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby” Set: Take Two!

James McAvoy, Jessica Chastain, and I on the set of “The Disapperance of Eleanor Rigby” on August 2, 2012.

Two weeks ago I shared my visit to the set of “The Disapperance of Eleanor Rigby” where I met the film’s star James McAvoy. If you read the original blog you know that my intention in visiting the set that day had been in hopes of meeting the film’s other star Jessica Chastain, but that she had left before I even got there. In my second trip to the set last week I finally got to do just that!

Candids of Jessica Chastain filming all over SoHo kept popping up left and right as well as quite a few fan pictures, so I felt that it was absolutely imperative I make the trek downtown for a chance to see one of my favorite young actresses in action. I read on On Location Vacations that “The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby” was in the same location all week, so as soon as I had the time to squeeze in a visit I made it my priority.

“The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby” was filming in The Cooper Union building in Cooper Square. Fun Fact: The Cooper Union building is actually an architectural school! When I got to set I found that they were filming inside, and since there were no other fans or photographers around I was prepared to wait it out near the lobby in hopes of seeing some of the cast members soon. At this point it was around 6pm, so based on previous set experience alone I was sure that they would be wrapping soon. Thankfully my friend Brian from BEST Blog joined me and we were able to keep each other entertained, and later our friend Dana was able to join us as well because they didn’t end up wrapping until almost 10pm!

Viola Davis was the first to leave the set but she disappeared into a back room, I assume to change or prepare her things to go home, so unfortunately I didn’t get the chance to see her. However shortly after Viola’s departure and much to my surprise both Jessica Chastain and James McAvoy appeared and came outside to greet us. As Brian mentioned in his blog about that night Jessica walked right over to us and said, “I remember you guys!” This was very exciting because we’ve met Jessica a couple of times at different events and she is definitely high up on both of our lists! I have to say my favorite moment was being able to take a picture sandwiched between both James and Jessica. I love group pictures and it’s so rare that it’s able to happen, especially on a set!

While chatting with Jessica I mentioned how excited I was to see “Lawless” and she was thrilled but reminded me, “It’s a very violent film. It’s very intense.” I told her that I thought the cast was such a great ensemble between her, Tom Hardy, and Shia LaBeouf and she got very excited to gush over them as well. “Tom and Shia are incredible in the film, just incredible!” Jessica Chastain may be bias, but I have to say that I trust her opinion!

“Lawless” is in theaters on August 29th – watch the trailer below:

If you would like to share this picture on your web-site please make sure to credit back to my site. Thank you!

One thought on ““The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby” Set: Take Two!

  1. Pingback: NYFW: Jessica Chastain TimesTalks & Proenza Schouler! | PROFESSIONAL FANGIRL

Leave a Reply

