Let’s All Get Pitch Slapped!

A couple of weeks ago I had the pleasure of attending a very advanced screening of Universal Pictures “Pitch Perfect”. The film, loosely based off of the biographical novel by Mickey Rapkin with the same title, was written by ’30 Rock’ pen-woman Kay Cannon and co-produced by funny lady Elizabeth Banks and her husband Max Handelman. Not to mention that Jason Moore, director of ‘Avenue Q’ on Broadway, makes his film director debut!

I had big expectations for the film since I’ve read Mickey Rapkin’s novel, and I am happy to confirm that the film delivered all of them and more. The performances were much better than anything I could have imagined, and I don’t know who was behind the song selections but someone needs to buy them a celebratory cheesecake because they chose well! Anna Kendrick leads in “Pitch Perfect” alongside Brittany Snow, Anna Camp, and Broadway-to-film newcomer Skylar Astin. However it is safe to say that the entire film belongs to co-star Rebel Wilson who you all know from “Bridesmaids”. This will be, undoubtedly, her big breakout role. There were points in the film in which I was laughing so hard at what Rebel’s character Fat Amy was saying or doing that I missed whatever was said after that – and it was worth it! People recognized her after playing Kristen Wiig’s unwelcome roommate in ‘Bridesmaids’ when she appeared in ‘What to Expect When You’re Expecting’, but Rebel WIlson will be a household name come this Fall. Her newly picked up sitcom ‘Super Fun Night’ on ABC which she confirmed on Twitter recently will definitely help, too.

Overall I have to say that ‘Pitch Perfect’ was a super fun ensemble female comedy, and a nice throwback to the days of coming of age college comedies. I look forward to forcing all of my friends to see it at midnight, and I’m keeping my fingers crossed for a performance or two during promotion! (Universal, can you hear me? Soundtrack signing mall tour, anyone? Yes?)

I am also very happy to say that with the Elizabeth Banks cameo in the film (which isn’t a spoiler thanks to the trailer) we can all put ‘What to Expect When You’re Expecting’ far behind us as if it never happened. Anna, Rebel, and Elizabeth are all instantly forgiven!

Check out the trailer below and let me know what you think in the comments!

3 thoughts on “Let’s All Get Pitch Slapped!

  1. Pingback: TRAILER: ‘Bachelorette’ « PROFESSIONAL FAN GIRL

  2. Pingback: James McAvoy On “The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby” Set! « PROFESSIONAL FANGIRL

  3. Pingback: “Pitch Perfect” Gets an Extended Trailer AND a New Poster! | PROFESSIONAL FANGIRL

Leave a Reply

