“The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn, Part 2” Madness Begins

Entertainment Weekly debuted the first exclusive photo of Kristen Stewart, Robert Pattinson, and Mackenzie Foy in ‘Breaking Dawn, Part 2’.

We are officially five months away from the end of “The Twilight Saga” franchise. Can you believe it? It feels like it was just a couple of months ago I was forcing a group of my closest friends at the time to line up in a theater on opening night with a bunch of teenyboppers and moms in Team Edward shirts to see the first “Twilight” back in 2008. Time flies when vampires sparkle!

I have to admit, I am ready to say goodbye. Though I do not regret reading the book series from cover to cover in under a week, any of my midnight screenings, and once hosting a ‘premiere’ party with friends among other ‘Twi-Hard’ activities, I got burnt out somewhere along the way and have been ready for the end for quite some time now. It’s bittersweet though and I am definitely looking forward to the film itself as the second half of ‘Breaking Dawn’ was the better, less crazytown half.

Yesterday Entertainment Weekly released an exclusive and highly anticipated first look at Kristen Stewart as now-vampire Bella Cullen, and Mackenzie Foy playing her half-human, half-vampire daughter Renesmee Cullen. Of course, Robert Pattinson broods beside them as Edward Cullen. Though the photo shoot is probably the best of all the ‘Twilight’ promo shoots, I have questions. Like for instance: Why are they suddenly all redheads? And what is it about being a vampire that suddenly makes you fashionable? Did all of Bella’s clothes burn in a fire while she was comatose and turning? I guess that’s really more of a question for Stephenie Meyer, but still. Today Entertainment Weekly also released their first ‘Breaking Dawn’ cover which is on stands this Friday.

I put together a collage of the previous four films promotional photo shoots for us to dissect briefly:

Clockwise: ‘Twilight’ (2008), ‘New Moon’ (2009), ‘Eclipse’ (2010), & ‘Breaking Dawn, Part 1’ (2011)

Looking back now I can see that the new ginger Cullens aren’t necessarily a new thing. It appears that Edward & Bella have auburn hair in the ‘Breaking Dawn, Part 1’ promotional photo, except that you can tell by the lighting it is something that resulted from them standing in front of a sunrise. Photo shop is magic! However, they are not standing in front of the sunrise in the Entertainment Weekly photo shoot so that is just plain auburn-meets-burgundy hair that they all magically have.

This is one of my biggest pet peeves about the franchise: Nothing. Ever. Stays. The. Same.

Which was your favorite of all the ‘Twilight’ looks we’ve seen over the years? I think I would have to say mine was ‘Eclipse’, despite the massive amounts of photo shop those pictures all entailed.

In other news it appears ‘Twilight’ is headed back to Comic Con this year. I hope you all have your tents ready!

One thought on ““The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn, Part 2” Madness Begins

  1. I’m glad they’re finally dressing better, it annoyed me so much when I saw the movies and they were all dressed like shit. In the book she says the Cullen’s and all vampires dressed in all designer duds. I may have only gotten half way through the first book but I remember it clearly.

Leave a Reply

