Congratulations Matt on Your High School Graduation!

I am no more a fan of anyone than I am of my little brother, so if you don’t mind I would like to take a moment and interrupt your regularly scheduled fan girl programming for a family moment.

For those of you that don’t know, my brother Matt and I are almost exactly ten years apart in age. Matt was born to my dad and my step-mom while I was in the 4th grade, and though I lived with my mom for the most part, I remember a lot of his most important moments. I remember sitting on the kitchen floor in my dads apartment in Queens when he took his first steps without holding any of our hands. I remember our first trip to Disney World together. I remember his first day of school the one and only year we ever attended the same school at the same time when he joined Kindergarten and I was in 8th grade. I remember him being a munchkin in a Peter Pan costume that year when we did ‘The Wizard of Oz’, too. I remember dozens of little league baseball games. I remember our trip to Atlantis in the Bahamas for my Sweet 16. I remember when he and his class wrote, directed, and starred in their school play. The list goes on, and on, and on, and on…

Now I have new memories to add to that list though. Like when his voice changed and he started to grow taller than I am, forcing me to accept the fact that he was no longer my ‘little’ brother. That his band dominated his schools Battle of the Bands show three years in a row (though they only won the last two years). His first ‘real’ girlfriend. The first time he drove while I was in the car having the biggest panic attack of my life. His first (and only) job. When he got accepted to both of his top university choices, with scholarships: St. Joseph’s and Monmouth! When he decided on Monmouth. And of course, last but not least (for now), his high school graduation yesterday.

Matt, I want you to know that I am so proud of you and all of your accomplishments to date. I know that Monmouth has absolutely no idea what is in store for them next year and that you are going to kick ass and take names along the way! I love you and I wish you nothing but the best, always. I know that you will succeed in everything it is that you want to do with your life! No matter how tall you get you will always be my little brother and I will always be here to support and protect you for as long as I live. Oh, and remember to stay classy.

Leave a Reply

