An Open Letter to One Direction Fans: You’re Doing It Wrong

Today when One Direction members Niall Horan and Liam Payne decided to leave their hotel and enjoy an afternoon on the town on their day off, a day they very much deserved, they got swarmed. Not just your normal leaving the hotel swarm, either. Like full tilt jungle madness swarming for blocks until they were forced to retreat back indoors to safety. Yes, I know they are celebrities and this is their life now, but that shit was still not cool and they have every right to be pissed off about it.

Listen girls, I get it. Trust me – if anyone understands what you’re going through right now over what is probably your first boy band or maybe even celebrity crush ever, it’s me. I also understand that this is probably your first attempt at trying to meet a celebrity. Don’t take what I’m about to say personally, because this is your first rodeo and really… I am just here to help you.

You are doing it wrong. The whole thing. All of it. Wrong.

Attacking them every single time they step foot out of a building? Wrong. Not listening to their security team, or doormen, or the police, or whatever form of authority is telling you to stay behind a barricade or get out of their hotel lobby? Wrong. Screaming bloody murder at them to get their attention? Wrong. Tweeting rude things to them when they don’t stop to take a picture with you and the other 350+ girls standing outside of their hotel? Wrong. Chasing them at airports. Camping outside their personal homes (Ahem, UK). Do you want me to go on? I can go on.

Here’s the thing: If you would all just CALM DOWN things would work out a lot better for you. You are, and this you can take personally, a safety risk. Every. Single. One. of you is like a ticking bomb and everyone who is in charge of keeping them safe knows it and is going to keep them as far away as possible from you. I can’t guarantee that they would start acting like Taylor Lautner or the Jonas Brothers with you if you start to behave, but I can guarantee that your chances will greatly improve. If Paul & Co. don’t have to be concerned that you and your friends are going to tackle them (which FYI is considered assault) the chances of them coming over to that barricade to say hi? So much higher. Like their first night in NYC – ever. They stopped at the hotel (twice according to the pictures people I know took with them). They stopped at the ‘Big Time Movie’ premiere that night, too. They also stopped at the Today Show when they brought fans snacks – and that I know first hand because I was there.

So basically what I’m telling you is that you need to calm down. You are ruining it for yourself, for your friends, and for every other bridge & tunnel girl who is lying to their parents about where they are when they are sitting outside of their hotel for three days straight.

You’re not going to listen to me, but hey, at least I tried.

Leave a Reply

