2012 Met Gala: Coco Rocha, Isabel Lucas, and Karolina Kurkova!

Coco Rocha & I outside The Met after the 2012 Met Gala.

If you thought that I would just watch the Met Gala arrivals in person and then bounce without taking pictures with anyone, you were sorely mistaken.

This was my third year star gazing at the Met Gala and every year I feel like I learn something new about it. Of course there are some things that never change, too. Like how you can watch arrivals from across the street but it is pretty much 100% guaranteed no one will be crossing 5th Avenue to meet fans before walking up the red carpet of The Met steps. And no, you cannot even so much as walk on the sidewalk in front of The Met let alone linger casually until someone you’re interested in taking a picture with rolls up. Seriously. Trust me. Although I am not entirely ready to share all of my deep, dark lingering fangirl secrets to success on Met Gala night I will tell you this: the real fun begins when the Met Gala itself is over.

Isabel Lucas & I on 5th Avenue following the 2012 Met Gala.

My first post-Met Gala encounter was with Coco Rocha who unfortunately made my NOT-SO-MUCH list in her Givenchy outfit. Even though she wasn’t my favorite look of the night she was super sweet! While we were taking our picture the graphers (the people who collect autographs to sell) came running up and she said, “Oh no, here they come…” and I quickly apologized for stopping her to which she quickly dismissed by telling me, “No, it’s not your fault!” You know what? She’s right. But I still felt bad as she made her quick exit. Next up was Isabel Lucas who looked super cute in her Proenza Schouler peacock colored dress. Even though she was happy to stop for a picture she was with a group of friends so we didn’t chat much, but she was still nice!

Karolina Kurkova and I outside of the unofficial 2012 Met Gala after party at Crown.

Once it seemed like departures had come to a slow, if not a complete and total stop, my friends and I made our way to a couple of different after parties. When we got to the unofficial after party at Crown we stumbled upon Karolina Kurkova who was just about to get into her car, but I was so in love with her Rachel Zoe gown and headband that I stopped her to ask for a picture. Just when I thought she wasn’t going to do it my friend Brian – my savior! – told Karolina how much I loved her look and how she was one of my top picks of the night. Before I knew it she turned to me and gave me a big hug for our picture! Even the paparazzi were snapping away which is why the picture came out so bright. Hopefully those shots show up online soon! The only downfall to this was that all of the sequins on Karolina’s gown got stuck in my hair, but we worked it out so that I didn’t have a bald spot and she didn’t lose any threads.

If you would like to share these pictures on your web-site please make sure to credit back to my site and do not remove any tags. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

