NYCC: My first Comic-Con experience!

Thanks to Twitter friend Wesley who had an extra pass for last weekends New York Comic Con I was able to experience the craziness up close for the first time. I’ve always wanted to take the trek to the West Cost for San Diego’s Con but never got the chance, and I have to say that getting to attend the last two day’s of NYCC has done nothing but make that itch even stronger. I spent the day tagging along with my friend Valerie and her brother since they were Comic Con regulars, and we started off at the autograph tables where we waited in line to meet James Marsters (SPIKE!!!). While we were in line for James Marsters there were other celebrities at the other tables like Jason Mewes (Jay!!!), Eliza Dushku (Faith!!!), and Rose McGowan who was there promoting the new Conan the Barbarian movie. Afterward we made our way to the Attack the Block panel which will have it’s own post shortly! Then it was off to the ‘Doctor Who’ photo shoot where all the Doctor fans who came in costume as their favorite Doctor characters from all the different seasons got together for group shots. It was pretty entertaining but I’ve only ever seen one episode of ‘Doctor Who’ so I didn’t know much about it, plus it was pretty chaotic because there were so many people. I got to explore the floor for a little bit too which was exciting because there were so many different booths and set ups that it was overwhelming, so the pictures I’ve attached are from both Saturday & Sunday because I spent all of Sunday exploring whatever I had missed on Saturday. We spent the last hour or so of Saturday evening waiting in line for ‘The Walking Dead’ panel and the ‘Avengers’ panel. The line was INSANE. Like nothing I have ever seen before… but it moved and it moved a lot right up until a few minutes before ‘The Walking Dead’ panel began. Then, unfortunately, it was a dead stop and all hope was lost. I guess my only complaint was that whoever planned Comic Con’s schedule should not have booked their two biggest attractions on the same day, or better yet in the same room. It seemed a little unfair since both had such big fan bases and once you’re in a room for a panel you can stay all day if you want to and that’s what a lot of people did to be in the ‘Avengers’ panel which closed the Con on Saturday. Overall I had SO much fun and I think I will definitely be looking into passes next year – New York is coming on up!

If you would like to share these pictures on your web-site please make sure to credit back to my site and do not remove any tags. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

